The Cornfield Review

A Literary Publication of The Ohio State University at Marion



preface

Shakespeare's Richard the Third famously uttered the lines, "Now is the winter of our discontent," words the editorial staff of this year's issue knew to be true in that down-in-the-bones kind of way. This year's submissions, for the most part, tended to revolve around a definite tonal center, ranging from somber and melancholy to outright dark, brooding, and, in some cases, violent. On top of that, the pathetic fallacy was in full force on the OSU-Marion campus, as a brutal winter bore down on on with all its frozen, soul-crushing might: campus closings, snow emergencies, burst water lines, and other wintry maladies were tossed our way constantly by some relentless, pitiless hand from above. And yet our intrepid band of editorial heroes tarried onward, finding a collection of real gems in the mix, artwork, stories, and poems that—in spite of their oftentimes gloomy dispositions—are thoughtfully and artistically expressed. We happily share these pieces with you in this, the latest edition of the *Cornfield Review*.

As with previous issues, we must give thanks to the powers that be, the ones responsible for helping along our humble publication. Our thanks goes to the OSU-Marion administration, led by Dean Greg Rose, who continue to support this three-decade-plus venture. Faculty in English are, as they have been in the past, mainstays of the creative writing culture we've cultivated on the campus and beyond. The lion's share of the work, of course, was completed by this year's Editorial Board, who deserve my appreciation: Mike Beatty, Malcolm Carter, Leah Cottrill, Robert Johnson, Taryn Korody, Skylar McEntire, Jennifer Miller, Dennis Millisor, Deb Noll, Rachel Schade, Lauren Upp, Jill Valentine, and Sheree Whitelock. The Cornfield Skeleton Crew, gluttons for punishment who stay on past Winter Quarter into spring to help finish production duties, deserve a particularly jaunty tip of the hat: Lauren, Deb, Leah, Taryn, and Dennis.

The *Cornfield Review* is published annually. The Editorial Board seeks quality poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction in addition to original artwork and photography. Submissions are primarily accepted from students, faculty, and staff of OSU-Marion and Marion Technical College, although works by off-campus writers and artists will be considered. For further details and queries, please email me at mccorkle.12@osu.edu, or visit the online archive and submission site at http://cornfieldreview.osu.edu.

— Ben McCorkle, Faculty Adviser

The Cornfield Review Mission Statement:

We strive to represent the literary and artistic voice of Central Ohio by giving area college students an opportunity to see their work published in a professional literary journal. Additionally, we are passionate about achieving a cultural impact that goes beyond local campuses and reaches into the greater community.

table of contents

POETRY & SHORT FICTION

Tabitha Clark, "Possession"	5
Michael, Beatty, "Prohets"	6
Alan Bryan, "Downfall"	9
Brittany Coomes, "Suburbia"	10
Benjamin Ditmars, "Thoughts on my Grandparents' House" "Joan Miró Tribute" "White-Rimmed Mirror"	11 12 13
Robert Johnson, "Chels and the Glass"	15
Taryn Korody, "An Ode to This"	16
Brittany Violet Long, "Birds of the Same Flock"	18
Dennis Millisor, "Pool Party at the Zoo"	19
Deb Noll, "Winter's White Snow"	20
Rachel Schade, "Masked" "Pain" "Proverbs 31:25"	21 21 22
Zachary Wheeler, "The Sort" "Stag"	23 24
Sheree Whitelock, "A Metaphor" "Unexpected Love"	25 26
Joey Yake, "Rotten"	27
Benjamin Zucker, "Lament of the Desert"	28
Tabitha Clark, "How to Save a Life"	29
Michael Beatty, "Tales" "Bystanders"	33 35
Benjamin Ditmars, "Magic Salesman"	40
James Gentzel, "Love Sings"	44
Andrew Grimes, "The Magician"	50
Malcolm, "The Gospel of Bubba"	55
Sarabeth Mull, "Trinkets"	60
Deb Noll, "Dear Bill" "The Sidewalk"	67 74
Rachel Schade, "Chained"	78

table of contents

Artwork & Photography

Benjamin James Ditmars, "Camel in Udaipur, India"	9
Bobbi Hupp-Wilds, "Rock"	10
Robert Johnson, "In Flight"	14
Hollis Juday , "Claire" Untitled	17 20
Sara Klips, "Monster Music Box"	22
Melissa Lester, "Walk in the Park"	25
Brittany Violet Long, "Luck"	28
Mark Tomsic, "Confessions of a Hypocritical Pastor"	32
Lauren Upp, "Shadow Play"	39
Sheree Whitelock, "Snow Day" "Painted Pony" "Awaiting a New Beginning"	49 66 73
Frontmatter & Backmatter	
Preface	2
Table of Contents	3-4
Contributors' Notes	94-95
Back Page Notices	96